A snowy Brighton Permaculture Trust plot

Other parts of the country have, predictably, ground to a halt with the snow they have had.  In my garden, we had barely a flutter.  So I was not expecting all the snow that I found up at the plot.

The snowy plot

It was hard to walk up there, and I was very glad that I wasn’t driving a vehicle.  When I got up there Christine was there and wondering around.  Then Nick appeared.  The snow seemed to induce the same reaction in all of us: wander around and notice the animal prints.  The snow threw any plans of doing any physical work out the of window.  Instead, we set to work on getting the fire going.

We were pretty chuffed with the fire

Christine and the fire

We made tea in the kelly kettle, and shared soup and talked more about people and permaculture design.

We specifically talked quite a bit about the plot, and how to get more people up there.  I have been discussing this for many months with different people: staff, tutors, course participants, volunteers… just about anyone I could talk to.  I have brought it up at the BPT visioning meeting.  Today, there was some sense of break through: interest from two permaculture diploma apprentices to find out if there was a group of apprentices that wanted to take on some of the responsibility of maintaining the plot.

Before the sun fell behind the clouds, we dispersed with the lingering smoke in our noses, clothes and hair.  I wonder if the idea will last longer than the smell of the smoke…

Leave a comment