Permaculture design and the sewing machine

Some of you may remember my ‘tools’ project that was part of my diploma (for those of you that don’t, read about my project here).  The aim of the project was to design …. well in hindsight… it was a little unclear.  I knew that I wanted to understand and use my sewing machine, which is definitely a tool and a useful one to use.  It definitely fits with the permaculture ethics of earthcare, people care and fair shares.  To me, I felt like I wanted to apply my sewing machine skills to my clothing- fixing and making them.  But what was I designing?  How to use the machine, clothes that would allow me to learn how to use my machine or something else?  In the end I did a mixture.  I took a few classes, got some of the basics down, mended my broken and ill-fitting clothes, made some bags out of scrap/second hand material, inspired and shared my skills with others, did clothes swops to re-distribute surplus etc.  The project worked out in the end but something wasn’t quite right.

Since then,I have come across:

1.  Jessi of Lucky So and So from a TED talk.

2. Elsie on her blog, A Beautiful Mess

3. A little shop in Stockholm called Poplin and fell in love with the bags designed and made by Ninda

I felt quietly inspired to tackle my tools project again.  For a while, I have been eyeing up an e-course that Elsie has up on her blog.  It is an e-course that is

‘for ladies who want to learn to sew their own clothes! You’ll learn basic and intermediate sewing skills while creating items of clothing that you’ll love to wear! The best part is, you’ll learn to fit the patterns to your body!’

It sounded pretty perfect: learn the skills, make fun stuff, figure out patterns that will fit me, and do it using thrifted materials.  I silently debated with myself- shall I do it, shall I not, is it too expensive, will I do it? etc etc.  One day I mentioned this debate to my boyfriend.  He was systematically refuted all my concerns and said I should just sign up.  I debated some more.

A while later, without telling him, I signed up.  On one of my weekday weekends (I often work at the weekends so end up taking a Monday… or a Wednesday off… like today) I got out all the stuff out to get started and I embarked on the first project- make your own top stitch bow.

Getting ready to start my sewing e-course

At the ready: sewing machine, sewing paraphernalia, music, tea and instructions.  

I admit, I had my reservations about this one.  A top stitch bow… what I meant to do with one of them?  I work in the garden a fair amount of time.  But it is quite clear that the course is designed to build up your skills by following the order of the projects.  So I with the first project with a prototype on some random material.  I measured out the bits.

Experimenting with first prototype

I cut out the pattern, did some origami, some ironing, some sewing and had a top stitch bow.  I immediately put a hair clip in it and stuck it in my hair.  There I was sitting with a top stitch bow, that I had sewn myself.  I have rarely felt girlier, and actually comfortable with it.  Maybe there is something to this sewing malarkey.

It was an easy first project, and I was actually delighted with this little bow… so delighted, in fact, that I did another one.  This time the designer in me wanted a pattern, so I measured the bits onto card, cut them out (this time on less random material) but on some scrap blue material and I started on my second bow.

Here it is

And before I knew it I had lots little bows (including the white prototype).

I even made two more after this ones.

So what’s next?  I considered starting an etsy shop for little bows and other things that I make.  I have refrained. But I am still quite enthused about getting started on my second project: make your own magazine tote.  A magazine tote?  Oh yes, a bag to carry reading material.  Now, I don’t read that many magazines (anyone else noticing a pattern) but I am excited about doing the prototype bag, and then re-designing it.

Comments
2 Responses to “Permaculture design and the sewing machine”
Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] I’ve been reading a lot of blogs recently and I have noticed that I am always drawn back to the ones with the nicest pictures.  Two in particular have been inspiring me recently – The English Can Cook and A Beautiful Mess (I stole this one from Hedvig). […]

  2. […] at least move down the process chain.  I might get a pair of trousers from a clothes swop, and by learning how to sew I can reduce my consumption of first hand clothes.  I have definitely been sharing my knowledge […]



Leave a comment