Starting a Permaculture Design: an accurate base map

Having started my design by getting a sense of its geographical context and location I moved on to observing the site and developed a sketch map.  Once I had the sketch map I then started accurately measuring the boundaries.  (More information in the post surveying and sketch maps).  My next phase was to draw up an accurate base map.  A base map is a drawing of the boundaries of your site, with aspect, scale and significant other features.  In this post I want to take you through the steps I took.  To be able to see the detail of the photos click on them.

1. Set up the space

I set up my draughtsman’s table, and then adjusted the middle bar so that it was actually horizontal (unlike in the photo).  The benefits of setting up to do the design work here is that I overlook the space.  You don’t need a draughtsman’s table, but it is handy for large scale drawings.  Just make sure that your space is clear and that you have the resources you need to hand (paper, masking tape, calculator, scrap paper, sketch map, pencil, eraser/rubber, long ruler, compass, coloured pens). I was ready to get started.

Draughtsman’s table getting set up

2. Calculate the scale 

Often I try and use a really simple scale like 1 cm= 10m or 1m.   I calculated that if I worked at that scale again my longest side would be 12.17cm, which was just too small.  I needed a different scale.

I calculated the different measurements using a 1:25 and a 1:50 scale. Put simply, any measurement is real life is divided by either 25 or 50 to get the to scale measurement.  For example, the largest side is 1217cm.  1217/25= 48.68  or  1217/50= 24.34cm.  I did this for all the edges.    I wrote the measurements in a one colour and the calculation in another colour so I didn’t get confused.

Calculating the scale 

For this design I decided that 1:25 was the appropriate scale.  The reasons for this is it would be easier to do participatory design, I could get a greater the level of detail in there, it is easier to display.   I know had the scale, the measurements and knew my size of paper.  I stuck this up above my table, so that it didn’t get in my way but was easy to see and read.

3.  Calculating the orientation and aspect

By orientation I mean the paper orientation (landscape or portrait).  For this design it makes sense to do it landscape.  The main reason is that this relates to the aspect of my site.  By aspect I mean the direction (north, south, east, west) it is facing.  By having a landscape orientation I could have the north point facing up in the top right hand corner (a convention I like I keep where possible).

The north point on the base map

4.  Stick the paper down on the table with masking tape

It is worth sticking it down so that it doesn’t move about when you are drawing.  I also checked that the paper was also horizontal.  It is worth doing because otherwise all the rest of you work could be inaccurate.

5. Draw your base grid

My next step is to work out the length and height of the paper and mark on the middle point of both.  I do this at the top and bottom of the paper and connect them to form grids.  The purpose of this is so that the base map is centered on the page.   It is also easier to work out the measurements from this centred position.

6.  Draw your outline

While I was working out my scale and measurements I did an exaggerated sketch of the measurements.   Very often your boundaries are not the same and all at right angles, so I find it helpful to have a sense of what it will look like.  I then drew the outline with my scale measurements.

My outline, scale grid and trusty calculator to make sure I’m on track

7. Add other details

There is a gate on the site so I added in the direction the gate opens.  I also added in where the window was of the community building.

Base map with gate and direction it opens

8. Finish up

To finish the base map I add: the title, scale, who drew the base map and when.

Finished base map 

 I’m now done.  I can now work on doing overlays to include other information I have observed.

Comments
One Response to “Starting a Permaculture Design: an accurate base map”
Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] advice from an expert about how to draw an accurate scale map have a look at Hedvig’s blog here.  She’s the bomb at basemaps.  This was my first ever one, and I learnt a few […]



Leave a comment